Reading and Thinking Football

Football, including books thereon and idiosyncratic thinking thereabout

Book Review: Monday Night Jihad

with one comment

Did you know NFL kicker Jason Elam is also a novelist. It’s true, I swear. As readers of A Few Seconds of Panic (a book I didn’t quite finish and thus didn’t review) know, Elam was working on a novel with his pastor. A Christian novel. A thriller about terrorism. Well, he finished it, and it was published. And my local library actually had it, so I went ahead and read Monday Night Jihad by Jason Elam and Steve Yohn. Ok, I only actually bothered to read it because Mike Tanier wrote a column about it. I wasn’t subject to the same bet Mike (conflict notice: fellow FO staffer) was, so I’m not going to do a full review. I’ll simply note that, take it from someone who’s read a lot of thriller-type novels, this is one of the worse ones. It’s better than Grisham’s dreadful The Broker and also Dan Brown’s Digital Fortress, but I still wouldn’t have finished it. The only worthwhile parts are the football-related in-jokes, like Hawaii (Elam’s alma mater) upsetting Notre Dame, making fun of the Not Raiders, and mocking ESPN’s idiotic studio analysts. Ignore the Amazon reviews; Monday Night Jihad is not worth your time if you have anything else to read, and even then it’s not worth it.

Written by Tom Gower

December 8, 2009 at 04:23

Posted in Uncategorized

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] among the football books I’ve detailed my experiences with, and not all of those have been particularly serious-minded. For whatever reason, football doesn’t seem to generate particularly many […]


Leave a Reply

