Reading and Thinking Football

Football, including books thereon and idiosyncratic thinking thereabout

Book Review: All Madden

leave a comment »

First was One Knee Equals Two Feet. Next came Hey, Wait a Minute. Then came One Size Doesn’t Fit All. Now, as I sort of conclude my tour of the works of John Madden (with NYT scribe Dave Anderson), is All Madden: Hey, I’m Talking Pro Football. The book to read, if you’re interested in Madden’s insights into pro football remains One Knee. All Madden falls into the same category as One Size-Madden’s thoughts on the players of the era (1996, 10 years after One Size) and stories of his life as a commentator. Madden remains an entertaining storyteller, and I don’t regret having read any of the books I have, but I really haven’t gotten much out of them since One Knee. All Madden was the last Madden book I had on my shelf owned but unread, and while there are others out there, I see no reason for me to acquire or read them.

Written by Tom Gower

March 6, 2010 at 23:15

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

